Social Media and PR

Haley J. Higgs

Survival Tips April 18, 2010

Filed under: Reading Notes — hhiggs87 @ 7:15 pm

This survival tip is one I have been putting off. Terrible, I know! Like all of the other survival tips, this one comes from A Survival Guide to Social Media and Web 2.0 Optimization by Deltina Hay. The reason I have put this one off is because I thought I knew it by heart. You see, this survival tip is all about building a blog on WordPress. How much is left for me to figure out? I mean, this is a WordPress blog. Boy was I wrong…

After reading this chapter, I have learned two main things. Both are things I have never known about WordPress and I have been using the site for a few years. The first is the appearance section. Did you know you could add widgets to your blog? I didn’t! Now I have my twitter account tied into my blog. I never knew how to do that before. Sure, I had seen it on other people’s blogs but I never could figure out how they tied them together. But now I know.

The other wakeup call came in the part of the chapter that talked about the settings. Have you ever fooled around with the settings buttons on WordPress? If you haven’t…don’t. If you have…I know the pain you feel. Settings are always a tricky thing but usually they go back to normal if you mess up. Not WordPress. If you change them then they stay changed. Reading this chapter gave me a better understanding of what the settings do. From security to privacy to discussion boards, I learned what buttons to play and which ones to leave alone.

 

Leave a Reply

