Social Media and PR

Haley J. Higgs

Social Bookmarking March 31, 2010

Filed under: TOW — hhiggs87 @ 11:42 am

Social bookmarking is becoming more popular. It is a way for people to connect and interact together through sharing links. One of the more popular social bookmarking sites is Delicious. Delicious allows users to post links for professional or personal use and then makes those links available to others. It is similar to the “favorites” section on your personal computer. The difference though is the fact that unlike your favorites, bookmarks posted to Delicious are accessible from any computer.

I created an account to better understand Delicious. My account is mainly are current links I found in the favorites section on my computer. I don’t feel like my links contribute to the greater good of society or anything but at least they’re out there. I am strengthening my social media presence if nothing else.

I think college students could benefit from using social bookmarking sites. Group work would become less of a hassle if the group had a social bookmarking page that they could all tap into, rather than passing hard copies around. This could also help because each group member could read every article as opposed to each member reading different things. College students could also benefit because social bookmarks would cut down on having to carry a jump drive everywhere or having to worry about not being able to use your computer at a public location. Social bookmarking allows you to access all of your bookmarked links without having to remember them, have them written down or e-mailing yourself links. Sites like Delicious allow you to have access to everything you need without having to carry you laptop with you wherever you go.

 

2 Responses to “Social Bookmarking”

  1. Natalia Says:

    I have never used Delicious but I have started thinking about setting up an account for the same purpose of strengthening my social media presence from all avenues. I think it will be fun to see what links and information other people are sharing as well. Who knows? I may even learn something new from trying this site out.

  2. Ack… Another social media outlet for me to try. I am so overwhelmed already with the plethora of apps and programs available to keep people connected. I am amazed every day at how far technology has come. I remember watching ‘Designing Women’ many years ago and Jean Smart’s character just couldn’t figure out how radio waves made it from the station, through the air, and to the radio. Social media amazes me every day. I still have a whole lot to learn and although I am a bit frayed at the edged I love social media. I don’t know where we would be without it.


Leave a Reply

