Social Media and PR

Haley J. Higgs

Survival Tips March 30, 2010

Filed under: Reading Notes — hhiggs87 @ 11:23 pm

What is social bookmarking? Wikipedia defines social bookmarking as “a method for Internet users to share, organize, search, and manage bookmarks of web resources. Unlike file sharing, the resources themselves aren’t shared, merely bookmarks that reference them.”

I have experiment with social bookmarking. For me, Delicious.com works the best. Social bookmarking is a way for other people to access my “favorites” without having to be on my computer. It is also a way for me to access my “favorites” when I am on a different computer.

Social bookmarking is another example of the joint effort that is the internet. It allows for users to interact by sharing links and working together to find new links. Social bookmarking is also a great way to connect with people who have the same interests.

So what is crowd-sourcing? Crowd-sourcing is essentially like outsourcing except instead of contracting the job out to another company, they are “contracting” it to their users. It allows users, viewers, and everyday people to vote on stories or rate things. Crowd-sourcing also encourages people to go find information (or stories) on their own, rather being force-fed information. I don’t have much knowledge of crowd-sourcing, other than what I read in Survival Guide to Social Media and Web 2.0 Optimization by Deltina Hay, but from what I have learned, Digg is an example of a crowd-sourcing site.

 

Leave a Reply

