Social Media and PR

Haley J. Higgs

PR OPEN MIC March 18, 2010

Filed under: TOW — hhiggs87 @ 1:54 pm

I created a profile on PR Open Mic almost three years ago. I have several friends, both students and professionals. I created the profile because it was a class requirement and haven’t devoted any effort to it outside of class. Sounds bad, I know, but up until now I haven’t really gotten what the site was all about. I got that it was a way to connect with PR students and professionals but I can do that on Facebook and Twitter, right? Wrong, PR Open Mic offers much more than Facebook or Twitter.

The main thing about PR Open Mic that I have come to love is the job and internship center available on the site. Professionals post jobs and internships on this site. It is a place where PR students and professionals looking for a job can look at different options all focusing on public relations. Many times, when we go to job fairs there are few jobs strictly pertaining to PR. By using this part of the site, I am able to keep my job and internship searching to PR and do it all from one site. New opportunities are being posted constantly.

Another feature of PR Open Mic that I really like is the chat feature. Through the site, students can chat with other students about projects they may be working on or anything at all. It is a place where students can bounce ideas off of each other while networking.

So, I may not being using PR Open Mic to its full potential yet but I’m getting there. Through the job/internship feature and the chat feature, I am getting more out of PR Open Mic than I have in the past few years. It is something I am going to have to devote time to but I’m getting there.

 

Leave a Reply

