Social Media and PR

Haley J. Higgs

Is Twitter Creating a Narcissistic Generation? February 11, 2010

Filed under: PR Connections — hhiggs87 @ 12:46 pm

Older generations say that our generation today is all about “me.” We love to talk about ourselves and we love to do anything that will make us feel better about ourselves. So, do social networking sites, specifically Twitter, hurt us? Is Twitter creating a narcissistic generation?

When I randomly searched different Twitter posts, I found a lot of posts about what people were eating for dinner or what movie they went to see or even when they were getting in the shower. People are using Twitter to give the world a play by play of their daily lives. If that isn’t narcissistic then I don’t know what is.

I have always been under the impression that Twitter was to be used as a networking tool. It was something to get you more involved with and connected to people in your field. Granted, I too am guilty of occasionally becoming narcissistic on Twitter but no nearly to the extent of some I have seen.  It is actually kind of scary the way people post their exact location throughout the day. Come to think of it, Twitter may just be a stalkers best friend. We freely give up information and we don’t think about who is seeing it.

So, is Twitter making a “me, me, me” generation more narcissistic?

 

One Response to “Is Twitter Creating a Narcissistic Generation?”

  1. aschlum1 Says:

    This is an interesting blog post. I think that not only Twitter, but many online social media sites are all about “me.” When people update their status or post a tweet… a lot of the time it is about themselves and what is going on in their lives. I can’t lie, mine are, for the most part, that way as well. It is interesting to think about if these sites could be creating or leaning towards a more narcissistic generation. This thought process will probably lead to more observations and studies being done to see if this observation may really be true.


Leave a Reply

