Social Media and PR

Haley J. Higgs

A “Groundswell” Goodie February 2, 2010

Filed under: Reading Notes — hhiggs87 @ 10:15 pm

As I began to read Groundswell by Li & Bernoff’s, I could follow everything for the most part. We live in a world dominated by “SNS” as they call it. Facebook has taken over our phones and if we think it, we tweet it. I’ve got that.

When I had gotten as far as page 20, something caught me off guard. A heading said “How they threaten institutional power.” I guess I always had to know this but it is the first time I actually stopped to think about it. Institutions can be brought down by a bad blog or in the case of Domino’s a simplt YouTube video. We are always told that bad news travels faster than good news but in the world of “SNS” all news travels at the speed of a bullet train.

The book goes into much detail about different “SNS.” The authors tell you what they are, how they threaten power, how they build relationships and how you can use them to your benefit. It is tons of really helpful information of how you can take advantage of the groundswell happening around us.

The other interesting thing I found came at the end of the chapter. The authors provide a set of questions to help you evaluate different new technologies. Here are the questions straight from their pages:

  1. Does it enable people to connect with other people in new ways?
  2. Is it effortless to sign up for?
  3. Does it shift power from institutions to people?
  4. Does the community generate enough content to sustain itself?
  5. Is it an open platform that invites partnerships?

After I read these questions, I found myself thinking about all of the “SNS” I am signed up with. I asked myself all five of these questions.

 

Leave a Reply

